Skip to content
+212 5 24 42 22 29
[email protected]
1st floor, Imm El Pacha, 67 Rue Ibn Khaldoun, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
16 September 2022

A Guide To Buying Property in Morocco

What do I need to know when buying a property in Morocco?

 

As a foreign national, you can become the sole owner of 100% of your property in Morocco. This is facilitated by the fact that you do not need to be a resident to open a bank account in Morocco.

It should also be noted that around 10% on top of the final selling price will also be added to the final selling price. This is broken down into 3% (excluding VAT) for agency fees, and around 6% to 7% for notary fees, registration and other taxes.

If you are looking to sell your property, or plan to do so in the future, please also note that the capital gains tax will be 20 % (if the property in question is a secondary residence or if the former owner has been a principal resident in Morocco for more than 6 years), and 30 % for companies.

 

What happens during the sale of a property?

 

If the buyer decides that they would like to move forward in acquiring a property, they will provide a written offer for the property in question. If the seller accepts the offer, then a summary of terms and conditions following a negotiation will be provided to both the seller and buyer.

To buy a property in Morocco, the buyer must choose a notary. The agency is available to provide help and advice so that the buyer can choose a notary best suited to their needs.

The notary will request all documents from the seller or their representative. The notary will prepare all the documents, including a draft document for final signature, a sales compromise, and a calculation of registration and notary fees.

The buyer will then have several options by which they can choose to settle the transaction:

  1. The buyer can come in person to open an account in Moroccan dirham in the bank of their choice. This would mean the buyer would have to transfer all the funds to their new account, thus adding 10% to the selling price. The bank can then provide them with a legitimate certificate ensuring the receipt of the money and safely transfer it to the notary. However, this could result in additional fees when issuing the bank check.
  2. Another option for the buyer is to send the funds directly to the notary. The notary will then recover this money from his professional account to the Caisse de Depot (CDG) or a professional bank account approved by the CDG. This method guarantees the buyer that their money is secure until the title to the property in their name is obtained.

In both circumstances, two transactions happen; one for the property transaction and another for the notarial and registration fees.

After signature, it will take around 10 to 15 days to register the property in the new buyer's name.

 

How do I set up a mortgage in Morocco?

 

To set up a mortgage, there is some self-financing required. This is a minimum of 30% of the value of the property in question.

It is worth noting that the interest rate in Morocco is between 5% and 7% and that the maximum length of the loan is 180 months or 15 years.

To touch on debt capacity, the payment period for a mortgage differs depending on the status and financial status of the applicant. The debt ratio will be a maximum of 35% if the buyer's monthly income is less than or equal to 20K MAD. The debt ratio will be a maximum of 40% if the buyer’s monthly income is less than or equal to 40K dihram, and the debt ratio will be a maximum of 45% if the monthly income of the buyer is more than 40K MAD, respectively.

  • Maximum of 35% if the buyer's monthly income is less than or equal to 20,000 MAD ;
  • Maximum of 40% if the buyer's monthly income is less than or equal to 40,000 MAD;
  • Maximum of 45% if the buyer's monthly income is over 40,000 MAD.

 

What documents do I need for a mortgage request?

 

To request a mortgage in Morocco, there are several documents that you must have to hand. Firstly, you need identification documents, including a photocopy of your passport and proof of current address (an electricity or telephone bill will suffice).

In terms of financial documents, you will need a personal tax return and tax notice for the years 2022 and 2021, as payslips from the last 12 months.

If the buyer has any other personal rental income or dividends, this must be justified. In case of any private charge credits being reimbursed, an amortisation plan can be attached. The buyer will also need bank statements of personal accounts for the last 12 years.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram

Skip to content
+212 5 24 42 22 29
[email protected]
1er étage, Imm El Pacha, 67 Rue Ibn Khaldoun, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
16 septembre 2022

Acheter une propriété au Maroc

Que dois-je savoir pour acheter un bien immobilier au Maroc ?

 

En tant que ressortissant étranger au Maroc, vous pouvez devenir l'unique propriétaire à 100 % de votre bien immobilier. Cela est notamment facilité par le fait que vous n'avez pas besoin d'être résident pour ouvrir un compte bancaire au Maroc.

Il convient également de noter qu'environ 10 % du prix de vente final seront ajoutés au prix de vente final. Cette somme se répartit en 3 % (hors TVA) pour les frais d'agence, et environ 6 à 7 % pour les frais de notaire, d'enregistrement et autres taxes.

Si vous cherchez à vendre votre propriété, ou envisagez de le faire dans le futur, veuillez également noter que l'impôt sur la plus-value sera de 20 % (si la propriété en question est une résidence secondaire ou si l'ancien propriétaire a été résident principal au Maroc pendant plus de 6 ans), et de 30 % pour les sociétés.

 

Que se passe-t-il lors de la vente d’une propriété ?

 

Si l’acheteur décide d’engager le processus d’acquisition d’une propriété, il devra faire une offre écrite pour la propriété en question. Suite aux négociations et dans le cas où l’offre est acceptée par le vendeur, un résumé des termes et conditions sera fourni à la fois au vendeur et à l’acheteur.

Afin d’acheter une propriété au Maroc, l’acheteur aura le droit de choisir le notaire. L’agence est disposée à aider et conseiller l’acheteur en recommandant, à la demande, un notaire adapté à ses besoins.

De ce fait, le notaire se chargera de rassembler tous les documents nécessaires à la vente de ladite propriété dont un premier exemple de document pour la signature finale, un compromis de vente ainsi qu’un calcul des droits d’enregistrement et des frais de notaire.

L’acheteur aura alors plusieurs options de paiement pour conclure la transaction :

  1. L’acheteur peut se présenter en personne afin d’ouvrir un compte bancaire en dirham marocain dans la banque de son choix. Cela signifie que l’acheteur devra transférer tous les fonds sur ce nouveau compte et y ajouter les 10% du prix de vente nécessaires. La banque fournira alors un certificat garantissant la réception de l’argent et le transfert de celui-ci en toute sécurité au notaire. Toutefois, cela pourrait entraîner des frais supplémentaires lors de l’émission du chèque bancaire.
  2. L’acheteur peut également envoyer les fonds nécessaires directement au notaire. Ce dernier récupérera alors cet argent de son compte professionnel à la Caisse de Dépôt (CDG) ou compte bancaire professionnel agréé par la CDG. Cette méthode garantit à l’acheteur que son argent est en sécurité jusqu’à l’obtention du titre de propriété à son nom.

Dans les deux cas, deux transactions ont lieu : une pour la transaction immobilière et une autre pour les frais de notaire et d’enregistrement.

Après signature définitive de l’acte de vente, il faut compter 10 à 15 jours pour enregistrer la propriété au nom du nouvel acheteur.

 

Comment contracter un prêt immobilier au Maroc ?

 

Afin d’obtenir un prêt immobilier, il faut apporter un certain autofinancement. Il s’agit d’un apport minimum de 30% de la valeur du bien immobilier en question.

Il est également important de savoir que le taux d’intérêt au Maroc se situe entre 5 et 7% et que la durée maximale du prêt est de 180 mois ou 15 ans.

Concernant la capacité d’endettement, la période de paiement du prêt immobilier diffère selon le statut et la situation financière du demandeur. Le taux d’endettement sera de :

  • Maximum de 35% si le revenu mensuel de l’acheteur est inférieur ou égal à 20 000 MAD ;
  • Maximum de 40% si le revenu mensuel de l’acheteur est inférieur ou égal à 40 000 MAD ;
  • Maximum de 45% si le revenu mensuel de l’acheteur est supérieur à 40 000 MAD.

 

De quels documents ai-je besoin pour effectuer une demande de prêt immobilier ?

 

De part ses lois et ses procédés, le Maroc oblige les demandeurs de crédits immobiliers de se munir de plusieurs documents. Tout d’abord, vous aurez besoin de documents d’identification, notamment une photocopie de votre passeport et d’un justificatif de domicile récent (une facture d’électricité ou de téléphone suffira).

En ce qui concerne les documents justificatifs financiers, vous aurez besoin d’une déclaration et d’un avis d’imposition personnels pour l’année en cours et des bulletins de salaire des 12 derniers mois.

Si l’acheteur dispose d’autres revenus personnels ou de dividendes, ceux-ci doivent être justifiés. En cas de remboursement de crédits de charges privées, un plan d’amortissement peut être joint. L’acheteur aura également besoin des relevés bancaires des comptes personnels des 12 derniers mois.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram